Christian Literature Society. Ramayana, Vishnu Purana

Today's free book is Sacred Books of the East, Volume 3: Epic Poems and Puranas. Ramayana, Mahabharata, Vishnu Purana.

This is a publication of the "Christian Literature Society for India," and you will see that their agenda is very explicit: their goal is to reject Hinduism in favor of Christianity. If you want to get a sense of the how the British viewed India at the time, this book can give you a lot of insight! Volumes 1 and 2 in this 3-volume series cover the Vedic and philosophical literature; this volume includes summaries of the Ramayana, Mahabharata, and the Vishnu Purana.

For the detailed table of contents, check at the bottom of this post below the image.

The book is available at Hathi Trust and Google Books.


Bala Kanda: Dasaratha's Horse Sacrifice; the birth of Rama; his education; encounter with Rakshasas; the breaking of the bow, and marriage with Sita.
Ayodhya Kanda: Rama's proposed installation as Heir Apparent; sent, through Kaikeyi, to the forest; the hermitage; Dasaratha's death; meeting with Bharata.
Aranya Kanda: Rama, Sita, and Lakshman in the forest; mutilation of Surpanakha; contest with the Rakshasas; Sita carried off; Rama's lament.
Kishkindha Kanda: Rama's league with Sugriva; Bali slain; gathering of the monkey host; the search for Sita; Sampati's tidings; the council about crossing the sea.
Sundara Kanda: Hanuman's leap; Sita discovered; Ravana's wooing and threats; Sita's lament; Sita and Hanuman; the ruin of the Asoka grove; Hanuman's return and meeting with Rama.
Yudda Kanda: Lanka invaded; Ravana's preparations; numerous engagements; Kumbhakarna roused and slain; Indrajit's victory; the medical herbs; Ravana's sally; death of Ravana; Sita disgraced and restored; return to Ayodhya and installation of Rama.
Uttara Kanda: Origin of the Rakshasas; the history of Ravana and his brothers; Sita banished; birth of Kusa and Lava; message to Sita; Sita enters the earth; Rama and Kala; Durvasas; death of Lakshman and translation of Rama.
[There is also a final chapter: The Ramayana Examined as a Sacred Book... although it is "disproved as a sacred book" for "its utter disregard of Truth," etc.]

The Mahabharata summary included in this volume is the same abridgement as published separately by John Murdoch, so I have not listed the contents again; it's easier to read Murdoch's book separately: Murdoch's abridgment of the Mahabharata.

1. Invocation, Authorship
2. Creation; the Mundane Egg
3. The Measures of Time
4. Narayana raises the World
5. Creation of the World's Inhabitants
6. Origin of the Four Castes
7. The Mind-born Sons of Brahma
8. The Origin of Rudra
9. Indra cursed; the Churning of the Ocean
10. The Children of the Rishis
11. Dhruva leaves his Father's Palace
12. Dhruva's Austerities
13. Prithu, the first King of the Earth
14. The Descendants of Prithu
15. Daksha, the son of the Prachetasas
16-20. History of Prahlada
21. Families of the Daityas
22. Government of Creation; Vishnu, everything

1. Divisions of the Earth
2. Description of the Earth
3. Description of Bharata-Varsha.
4. Description of the other Dwipas
5. Account of Patala and Sesha
6. The different Hells below Patala
7. The Seven Spheres
8. Description of the Sun
9. The Planetary System; Rain
10. The Twelve Adityas
11. The Sun identical with Vishnu
12. Description of the Moon
13-16. Legend of Bharata

1. The Manus and Manwantaras
2. The Seven Future Manus
3. Division of the Vedas
4. Last Division of the Veda
5. Story of Yajnavalkya
6. The Puranas, etc.
7. Worshippers of Vishnu not subject to Yama
8. The Worship of Vishnu; Duties of the Castes
9. Duties of Students, Householders, etc.
10. Marriage, etc.
11. Daily Purifications, etc.
12. Miscellaneous Duties
13. Shraddhas
14. Shraddhas, when most Efficacious
15. Offerings at Shraddhas
16. Things to be offered at Shraddhas
17. The Gods defeated by the Daityas
18. Buddha's false Teaching; Satadhanu

1. Origin of the Solar Dynasties
2. Ikshwaku and his Sons
3. The Snake Gods; Birth of Sagara
4. Sons of Sagara; Birth of Rama
5. Nimi. Origin of Sita
6. Kings of the Lunar Dynasty
7. Descendants of Pururavas
8. Dhanwantari
9. Descendants of Raji
10. The Sons of Nahusha
11. The Yadava Race
12. Descendants of the Yadavas
13. The Syamantaka Gem
14. Descendants of Akrura
15. Wives and Children of Vasudeva
16-18. Descendants of Turvasu, etc.
19. Descendants of Puru
20. Descendants of Kuru
21-24. Future Kings; the Kali Yuga

1. The Earth oppressed by the Daityas
2. Conception of Devaki
3. Birth of Krishna
4. Kansa orders male children to be destroyed
5. Putana killed by Krishna
6. Krishna overturns two Trees
7. Krishna and the Serpent Kaliya
8. The Demon Dhenuka destroyed by Rama
9. The Asura Pralambu destroyed
10. Krishna dissuades from the worship of Indra
11. Krishna holds up the Mountain
12. Indra propitiates Krishna
13. Krishna sports with the Gopis
14. Krishna kills Arishta
15. Kansa seeks to kill Krishna
16. Krishna slays Kesin
17. Akrura and Krishna
18. Krishna leaves Gokula
19. Krishna kills Kansa's Washerman
20. Kubju Straightened; the Games; Kansa slain
21. Panchajana killed, etc.
22. Mathura besieged
23. Krishna builds Dwaraka; Destruction of Kalayavana
24. Promise to Muchukunda, etc.
25. The Drunkenness of Balarama
26. Krishna carries off Rukmini
27. Pradyumna kills Sambara
28. Wives of Krishna; Balarama kills Rukmin
29. Krishna kills Naraka and goes to Swarga
30. Battle for the Parijata Tree
31. The Parijata Tree taken to Dwaraka, etc.
32. Children of Krishna, etc.
33. Fight between Krishna and Siva
34. Krishna destroys Paundraka, and burns Kasi
35. Balarama drags the city of Hastinapura
36. Balarama destroys Dwivida .
37. Destruction of the Yadavas
38. Arjuna burns the dead, etc.

1. The Four Ages, Kali Age
2. Redeeming Properties of the Kali Age
3. The different kinds of Dissolution
4. Explanation of Dissolution
5. Mukti; the Evils of Life
6. Means of attaining Liberation
7. Yoga Exercises; Liberation
8. Summary of the Purana: Merit of hearing it

No comments:

Post a Comment