Stratton. Tejas and Other Indian Legends

Today's free book is When the Storm God Rides: Tejas and Other Indian Legends retold by Florence Stratton and illustrated by Berniece Burrough. You can find out more about this book in the Tejas Legends unit of the Myth-Folklore UnTextbook.

For the table of contents, check at the bottom of this post below the image. The links are to the Sacred Texts edition of the book: Sacred Texts Archive.

Table of Contents:

When the Storm God Rides
How the North Wind Lost His Hair
Kachina Brings the Spring
The Sweet Gum's Amber Tears
The Plant That Grows in Trees
Why the Woodpecker Pecks
The Woodpecker's Stumpy Tail
Chief Two Hawks' Trail
The Magnolia Babies
Old Woolly Bird's Sacrifice
A Tribe That Left Its Shoes
The Cloud That Was Lost
The Swift Blue One
The Wise Man's Big Bald Head
Grandmother River's Trick
Why Hummingbirds Drink Only Dew
When the Stars Took Root
The Maiden Who Loved a Star
Old Quanah's Gift
How Sickness Entered the World
The Evil Water Spirits
Why the Irises Hold Hands
The Pecan Tree's Best Friend
When the Rainbow Was Torn
Paisano, Hater of the Rattlesnake
Maidens Who Broke a Drouth
Why Arrows Have Feathers
The Cottonwood Remembers
Why the Skunk Walks Alone
How the Turkey Hid Her Eggs
Why the Dog's Ears Flop
About the Tejas Indians

No comments:

Post a Comment