Sastri. Indian Folktales

Today's free book is Indian Folktales by Natesa Sastri. For the table of contents, check at the bottom of this post below the image. This book contains stories found in Sastri's other books, along some stories (towards the end) not found in those other publications, and it also contains a biography of Sastri, written after his death in 1906.

The book is available at Hathi Trust and Google Books.

The Three Deaf Men
Why Brahmans cannot eat in the Dark
The Soothsayer's Son
Charity alone Conquers
Mr. Won't Give and Mr. Won't Leave
Mr. Mighty-of-his-Mouth
The Mother-in-Law Became an Ass
The Story of Appayya
The Brahmin Girl that Married a Tiger
The Good Husband and the Bad Wife
The Good Wife and the Bad Husband
The Four Good Sisters
The Monkey with the Tom-Tom
Good will grow out of Good
Pride Goeth Before a Fall
Light makes Prosperity
The Five Cups
The Brahmarakshasa
The Satchel-Bearer
The Brahmarakshsa and the Hair
The Beggar and the Five Muffins
The Brahman Priest who became an Amildar
The Gardener's Wife
Chandralekha and the Eight Robbers
The Conquest of Fate
The Reign of Lakshmi
It is for the Best
The Jessamine King
The Arch Impostor
The Four Good Maxims
The Six Good Maxims
The Shower of Gold and Scorpions
The Komatti that suits the Stake
The Wise Men of Pungamur
The Story of Atirupa
The Talisman of Chastity
Devoted Vatsala
Ebhaya, the learned fool
A Knock on the head of Akiri
A Devil and an Oil-Monger
A Banished Prince
A True Horoscop
King Bhoja's Headache
A False Astrologer
Marriages are made in Heaven
Biters Bit
The Subhadar of the Cot
The Buffalo made of Lac
The Story of Kesava

No comments:

Post a Comment