Colum. The Golden Fleece and the Heroes Who Lived Before Achilles.

Today's free book is The Golden Fleece and the Heroes Who Lived Before Achilles by Padraic Colum (1921). For the table of contents, check at the bottom of this post below the image.

Available at the Baldwin ProjectProject Gutenberg, Internet Archive, Hathi Trust, Google Books, and LibriVox. There is also a free Kindle ebook.


I. The Voyage to Colchis
The Youth Jason
King Pelias
The Golden Fleece
The Assembling of the Heroes
The Argo
The Beginning of Things
Polydeuces’ Victory and Heracles’ Loss
King Phineus
King Phineus’s Counsel
Landing in Lemnos
The Lemnian Maidens
Demeter and Persephone
Atalanta’s Race
The Departure from Lemnos
The Golden Maid
The Passage of the Symplegades
The Mountain Caucasus

II. The Return to Greece
King Æetes
Medea the Sorceress
The Winning of the Golden Fleece
The Slaying of Apsyrtus
Medea Comes to Circe
In the Land of the Phæacians
They Come to the Desert Land
The Carrying of the Argo.
The Story of Perseus
Near to Iolcus Again

III. The Heroes of the Quest
Atalanta the Huntress
Peleus and His Bride from the Sea
Theseus and the Minotaur
The Life and Labors of Heracles
The Battle of the Frogs and Mice
Orpheus the Minstrel
Jason and Medea

No comments:

Post a Comment